Previously, Switzerland, Iceland and seven EU countries cleared the Covishield vaccine on Thursday (File).


The Netherlands became the latest European Union (EU) country to approve the Covishield vaccine manufactured by the Serum Institute of India (SII) for travelers, days after India sought approval from its COVID-19 vaccines in Europe.

According to the Dutch government website, Covishield has been included in the list of approved vaccines with doses from Pfizer-BioNTech, Moderna and Johnson & Johnson.

People who have been fully vaccinated may be exempted from the entry ban into the EU, unless they are traveling from a country that has been designated as a very high risk area due to the presence of a worrying variant.

Earlier, Switzerland, Iceland and seven EU countries cleared the Oxford-AstraZeneca vaccine made by SII on Thursday, a day after Foreign Secretary S Jaishankar said he had signed up with the European bloc to accept COVID-19, Covishield and Covaxin vaccines.

According to sources, Austria, Germany, Slovenia, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Estonia and Spain have confirmed accepting Covishield for travel. Switzerland has also authorized Covishield for the Schengen state.

Estonia has confirmed that it will recognize all vaccines authorized by the Indian government for Indian travel to Estonia, sources said.

India had called on EU member states to individually consider extending the exemption to people who have taken Covishield and Covaxin and said it will institute a reciprocal policy of recognizing the EU’s digital COVID certificate. , according to sources.

“We have called on EU member states to individually consider extending a similar exemption to people who have taken COVID-19 vaccines in India, namely Covishield and Covaxin, and to accept the vaccination certificate issued via the CoWIN portal The authenticity of this vaccination certificate can be authenticated on the CoWIN portal, “said a source.

The 27-member European bloc is introducing the EU’s COVID digital certificate framework to facilitate safe free movement during the COVID pandemic and it will come into force on July 1.

As part of this, people vaccinated with vaccines authorized by the European Medicines Agency (EMA) will be exempted from travel restrictions within the EU, sources said adding that individual member states have the option to accept. also vaccines authorized nationally or by the World Health Organization.

(Except for the title, this story was not edited by NDTV staff and is posted from a syndicated feed.)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.